Monthly Update #3: Updated Blog Layout, Episode Reviews, Visual Novel Reviews, and Brief Hiatus

29 comments

Wow, this is coming out when we’re already one-third of the way into January! So timely! It’s probably because I got confused as to whether or not I should post a blog update when I kind of posted about that toward the end of 2016

I finally discovered widgets ayyyyyyy. So I went and changed things up in The Lily Garden. My new header images look a little blurry, though. Hm.

I know I talked about not doing episode reviews in the aforementioned post, but I think I spoke too soon. I’ve just been managing my time inefficiently. So I’m going to continue with those, but I’ll try to be work a bit smarter. The shows I’m planning on reviewing on an episode basis, by the way, are

  • BanG Dream!
  • Gabriel DropOut
  • Idol Jihen
  • Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon
  • Minami Kamakura Koukou Joshi Jitensha-bu
  • Nyanko Days
  • Piace: Watashi no Italian
  • Schoolgirl Strikers: Animation Channel
  • Urara Meirochou

I’m already having some second thoughts over these shows, but I ain’t a quitter! I swallow down my regrets and keep going (no comments, please).

Hopefully I can make time to review visual novels. I’m so behind.

Lastly, I’m going to be heading up to Genesis 4 between the 19th and the 23rd. I’ll try to keep up with you all when I’m not playing video games or drinking myself silly!


That’s all. Dang, I’m already a little behind this season. Gonna have to review at least 3 episodes tomorrow. Anyways, ta ta for now!

29 comments on “Monthly Update #3: Updated Blog Layout, Episode Reviews, Visual Novel Reviews, and Brief Hiatus”

  1. Hello, I’ve never read or watched yuri before but I guess I’m open to trying it??? I have no idea, can’t really say until I read one. Do you have any recommendations for a beginner?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A lot of the shows I watch and review can only be called yuri by association since kissing and hugging doesn’t happen on-screen. Gotta keep my options open, right?

      For anime, I think Yuru Yuri and Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka? are good for beginners. They’re both easy-going and the series primarily are comedies (and the yuri plays a second fiddle, but there’s enough subtext for shipping). Yuru Yuri does start off a bit slow, though.

      If you’re in the mood for show that isn’t SoL, Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru is a lot more action-based. I’ve never heard that many passionate yells in a show before. It’s also getting a second season later this year.

      I can’t really recommend Sakura Trick even though the girls are actually making out since it’s to the point that it’s ridiculous. Not to mention that I despise the main couple. But that’s on the table if you’re interested. I have a few older shows in mind but they’re even slower than Yuru Yuri, so yeah.

      As for manga, a lot of yuri fans can’t get over Girlfriends by Morinaga Milk, which is widely considered a classic.

      Hopefully those recommendations aren’t too alienating. Sorry for the late response and thanks for dropping by!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a short and wasn’t really my thing or applicable to the blog since no yuri. But I don’t think it’s bad. Just a bit niche, perhaps? You do get to learn about Italian food and see pictures of real food compared to how they are presented in anime.

      Like

  2. I really like the new layout 😀 Widgets are so handy!
    I look forward to reading those reviews! I hope you get to write more. I know just how time consuming blogging can get sometimes… But you’ll manage fine, I’m sure ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

